Middle School Science Bowl

The U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) National Science Bowl® is a nationwide academic competition that tests students’ knowledge in all areas of science and mathematics. Middle and high school student teams from diverse backgrounds are comprised of four students, one alternate, and a teacher who serves as an advisor and coach. These teams face-off in a fast-paced question-and-answer format, being tested on a range of science disciplines including Biology, Chemistry, Earth Science, Physics, Energy, and Math.

Middle School Science Bowl practice at TVMSC typically begins towards the end of October with the regional tournament at the end of January.  Practices continue until the end of April if a TVMSC team wins the regional tournament. Middle School Science Bowl is open to students who are in 6th, 7th, and 8th grade.  

The TVMSC Middle School Science Bowl Team earned 3rd place regionally in 2017, but earned 1st place in 2016 and 2017 at the Regional Competition level. In the years where the team earned first place regionally, the team earned the opportunity to compete at the National level in Washington, DC.

Students from TVMSC were actually participating on three teams; one from the Center and then on teams for both Hillside Jr High and North Jr. High.  This competition is a Jeopardy-style competition where students us buzzers to try to be the first to correctly answer questions relating to mathematics or a range of science areas.  Competition is fierce and the demonstration of strong abilities was impressive. The best part of all was the consistent demonstration of sportsmanship and respect that the participants showed for one another. In the end, the Hillside team earned first place against an extremely strong team from Pullman who earned 2nd place!  TVMSC's Team A earned third place. 


The team from Hillside was composed of four TVMSC/Hillside students and one Hillside-only student.  These five students enjoyed the opportunity to travel to Washington, DC for the National Competition to represent the state of Idaho. 

For additional information please contact Ms. Ekhoff or  Dr. MacLean.